Hip Replacement: I Am Kurious Oranj by The Fall (Beggars Banquet)

I STARTED writing this a couple of years ago. I have no idea why it took me so long to finish it off. So, anyway …

* * *

ME AND the Fall go back a long way but there are times when Mark E Smith’s grüppe have just been too heavy and noisy for me, when they’ve been too slickly produced, when they simply played too many guitars for my wildly oscillating tastes (this was, of course, during the rave era and I was a touch confused, a lot of the time).

No offence to our colonial cousins, but I’m not right keen on the current line-up of bearded Americans, it has to be said.

Not to worry. There’ll be another one along in a minute.

The fact that, sooner or later, I generally realise that I’m just being daft, and they were – he was – right all along, is neither here nor there.

Mark E Smith gets under your skin. He’s like a rash that won’t go away. Writing from his own unique and inimitable perspective, his insights into the northern, white working class mindset often have an eerily consistent relevance to those of us who have followed his work for a while – although I‘m sure they have as much relevance in New Zealand or Holland or Brazil.

Weirdly prophetic, darkly sardonic, accusatory, mystical, cynical, nonsensical, just plain odd – sometimes all at the same time – Smith can seem like he’s talking about your life just as much as he is his own, God help us all ..

Read the rest of this piece at the new home of Expletive Undeleted here.

Leave a Reply

