Interview: MSTRKRFT

I MET Al P and Jesse F Keeler in their dressing room at the Bierkeller in Manchester, just before their date at Tramp! in May 2006.

I had this idea that I’d interview the people who guest DJed and played at the club, give Will and James a simple Q&A for them to stick on the club’s website and write up narrative interviews for fun and profit and publication elsewhere.

I was in a bit of a weird, angry place at the time and didn’t act in an entirely professional manner, it has to be said. I had a nice chat with the Shy Child guys but by the time I got to speak to the Klaxons the same night, I was so drunk all I could do was insult them and berate them for “getting kids into ecstacy”.

Not good – even if their music is a load of old shite.

I was able to keep it together a little more when I interviewed MSTRKRFT and actually managed to write it up, though it was ages after the fact, and I’m still not sure if Will and James managed to get it on the Tramp! website before they called it a day last year.

I might get around to transcribing the Shy Child and Klaxons interviews one day, but in the meantime, here’s MSTRKRFT talking about DJing, fucking for effect and the importance of being Canadian.

* * *

AL PUODZIOUKIAS and Jesse F Keeler met in Toronto, Ontario. Jesse first came to the world’s attention as one half of metal disco punk drum and bass duo Death From Above 1979 , while Al was in electro pop act Girlsareshort and produced DFA 1979’s debut album, You’re A Woman, I’m A Machine.

They make dark, sexy house music together as MSTRKRFT, remixing artists as diverse as Wolfmother, Bloc Party, The Kills and Juliette and the Licks. They have just released their debut album, The Looks, on Last Gang Records.

What was the first record you ever bought?

Jesse: “The first record I ever got was You And I by Rick James. I got it in Buffalo, New York, and I was five. I remember because my parents made a big deal about it, because I really liked that song, but you couldn’t buy it anywhere. So, we went to Buffalo to buy records.”

Is that just over the US border?

J: “Yeah, it’s like an hour’s drive from Toronto. It’s very black in Buffalo, so you could buy like soul records and funk records that you couldn’t get easily in Toronto.”

Al: “The first record I ever owned, well, I had two records and a brown Fisher-Price record player – one of the records was a Disney Donald Duck singing, and then the other record was actually Thriller, and they were the only two records I ever listened to when I was a kid. Those two. And I thought the gatefold with Michael Jackson with the tiger was like the coolest thing. Oh man.

“The first record I ever bought, I believe, was Guns N’ Roses’ Appetite For Destruction.”

Read the rest of this piece at the new home of Expletive Undeleted here.

Leave a Reply

